Boards & Commissions

Boards & Commissions


Get involved

Each one of us can contribute to our city. We need your help by taking the time to serve as an active member of a board or commission. Appointments to boards and/or commissions are a vital part of local government and provide for direct citizen involvement to help shape and influence public policy. Working together we can successfully prepare for our city’s future.

If you are interested in volunteering, please click here for the Boards/Commissions application.


Board of Adjustment

The three (3) member Board meets as necessary upon submittal of a formal application to hear and decide on the following:
  • Variances from Title 17 (Zoning)
  • Appeals from interpretation of the Zoning Ordinance
  • Appeals from Chapter 8.14 (Property Maintenance Code)
  • Modification of the requirements of the International Fire Code as adopted by Chapter 15.16 of the Fountain Municipal Code. 

There are currently 2 vacancies for alternate members.

Economic Development Commission

Business NeedsThe Economic Development Commission was established in 1987. Its Mission is to advocate on behalf of business operational needs in a corridor and/or identify hinderances to business entry for the community; as well as propose solutions.  Established by City Council, as a visionary lead toward economic diversification, job growth and preservation, building the local tax base, and equitable generation of wealth.

The Business Corridors are:

- North US85 
- Mesa Ridge
- Olde Town/Downtown
- Gateway
- Bandley Drive
- South Academy Highlands (SAH)

 Visit Business Climate  Visit GIS Maps

2024 Initiatives of the Economic Development Commission include:

  • Wayfinding System Signage Plan
  •  Business Corridor Messaging/ Positioning
  • Olde Town Revitalization Support Programs
  • Incentive Policy and Recruitment Aide for Commercial Development
  • Business Retention/ Expansion/ Attraction and Migration Paths
  • Preservation Business Growth Corridors
  • Broker / Developer Awareness Campaign  

board meets on the second Monday of each month beginning at 5:30pm City Hall.

The seven member board, consists of the following:

Dan Osinski (Chair)  Phyllis Baez (Vice Chair) Terrence Diaz
Mercedez Davis  Vacant (Chamber of Commerce) Alyssa Davis
Megan Kane  Darlene Cruz (Ex-Officio)  Kimberly Bailey (Director)

 Please see Bios for EDC member backgrounds.

Click HERE for 2023 meeting minutes
Click HERE for 2022 meeting minutes

Click HERE for 2021 meeting minutes
Click HERE for 2020 meeting minutes

To learn more about EDC, please email [email protected] or call
719) 393-4949.

Tom Downing
Tom Downing

Heritage Maintenance District


The mission of the Heritage Special Improvement Maintenance District (the “District”) is to provide maintenance and improvement of certain public areas for the benefit of District property owners.

The Heritage Special Improvement Maintenance District Advisory Committee (the “Committee”) shall exercise such authority and powers as are specifically reserved to it by the City Charter, Ordinances of the City of Fountain (the “City”) and such additional authority and powers as are lawfully conferred upon it by the Fountain City Council.

Duties -The Committee shall have the responsibility to make recommendations to the Fountain City Council concerning some of the following:

  • Solicit, review, and recommend qualified contractors involving the maintenance and improvement of certain public areas for the benefit of District property owners.
  • Formulation of budgetary maintenance and improvement development goals and objectives based on District resident preferences;
  • Promotion of enhanced District Improvement Plan and implementation of the planned improvements through its residents and budgetary constraints;
  • To advise and make recommendations as to any contracts involving the use of public monies within the District which will affect the level of the effectiveness of the required maintenance.

Olde Town Steering Committee

The Olde Town Steering Committee (OTSC) was formed through the efforts and adoption of the 2014 Olde Town Revitalization Plan. The purpose of the committee is to represent the businesses, property owners, and residents of the Olde Town district to work on behalf of advocacy in the areas of economic vitality and public improvements.

2022, marked the second anniversary of the Olde Town District Ambassador role as established by t
he committee.  The 2024 Ambassadors include: Teresa Vieira, owner of Peaks N Pines Brewing Company and Jennifer Zenner, owner of ZENner Yoga Studio.   

The Ambassador serves as a rotation basis for filtration representation opportunity within the district and must demonstrate their passion, commitment, and engagement with Fountain and the greater Valley community. 
 DEA Donation    OTSC Session
In the Winter, the OTSC hosts its Open House to broaden connections and bring awareness to the business potential of the district.    In the Fall, the OTSC hosts its Business Social to network among district businesses and spur small business engagement efforts.
To learn more about the OTSC's district initiatives, community placemaking, and to view a timeline of the district's capital improvements, (click here)

Currently, the committee is formed by the following:

Peaks n Pines Brewing Company (Ambassador)
ZENner Yoga Studio (Ambassador)
Dolly "RED" Design 
Fountain Violin Shop 
Sue's Floral 
American Family Insurance 
Olde Town Coffee Shop 
Fountain Summer Market
Fountain Creek Winery
School District 8 Fountain -Fort Carson

In March, the committee has formulated its 2024 Open House on projects/events focused initiatives.

The committee hosts its meetings on the third Wednesday of each month at a rotation location within the district. The committee maintains a very open door policy with respect to anyone of interest that lives – owns –and/or operates within the district is welcome.  The committee is thankful to the legacy contributions of Florence Paradise, Patty St Louis, Don Miller, Lori Brazil, and Ron Book on behalf of economic vitality measures of Olde Town.   

The Olde Town District is home to many events throughout the year. Click here to view this city's community events calendar.

Park and Recreation Advisory Board

The City's Park Board consists of five (5) members who are residents of Fountain and approved by City Council. The Park Board meets the first Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at City Hall, located on 116 South Main Street, Fountain, Colorado.
Currently the City's Park Board Members consist of the following:
  • Chairperson Kinkennon
  • Vice-Chairperson Clements
  • Member Heath
  • Member Diaz
  • Member Johnson
  • Alternate Member O'Brien

If you would like to volunteer your time as a Park Board Member, Applications can be turned into the City Clerk's office, located at 116 South Main Street.

Planning Commission

The City's Planning Commission consists of seven (7) members and two (2) alternate members who are residents of Fountain and appointed by City Council. 

The Planning Commission meets the first Wednesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at City Hall located on 116 South Main Street, Fountain, Colorado. The Planning Commission reviews and advises Council on all public and private activities involving the physical development of the City and long-range planning for the City and such areas outside its corporate boundaries that affect the orderly development of the City.

Contact: Planning Department at (719) 322-2000

Urban Renewal Authority

FURA was formed by the City of Fountain in 2008 with the establishment of the US85 urban renewal area. Today, there are four urban renewal areas designated in Fountain, these include: South Academy Highlands,
Charter Oak, and Bandley.

Learn More about the
Fountain Urban Renewal Authority